Dr Rita Sood Memorial Oration

Dr Rita Sood, 21st October 1956 to 8th April 2021

An astute clinician, an empathetic doctor & a dedicated teacher, full of compassion for residents and students.

  • Former Head, Department of Medicine, AIIMS
  • Completed her MBBS and MD from Lady Hardinge College, New Delhi
  • Masters in Medical Education  from University of Dundee, UK
  • Received WHO Fellowship in clinical hematology
  • Fellow at Royal College of Physicians, UK
  • Fellow at National Academy of Medical Sciences
  • Actively involved in faculty development programs nationally & internationally for the last 2 decades
  • Worked closely with WHO, UNICEF and Medical Council of India on issues pertaining to medical education

Dr Vedprakash Mishra

Professor of Excellence, Professor of Eminence and

Professor Emeritus Dr Vedprakash Mishra

Dr B. C. Roy National Awardee,

D.Sc. (Honoris Causa) by Six Universities

National Head of the Academic Programme of Indian Programme UNESCO Chair in Bio-Ethics Haifa & Member of the International Committee for Bioethics for Asia Pacific Region

Chief Advisor to Hon’ble Chancellor and Krishna Institute of Medical Sciences (Deemed to be University), Karad

Pro-Chancellor, Datta Meghe Institute of Medical Sciences (Deemed to be University), Nagpur.

Dr Ved Prakash Mishra Lecture on Expedient Legislative Framework for reforms in Medical Education 


Dr D.K. Srinivas

Dr D.K. Srinivas is one of the pioneers in the development of Medical and Health Professional education in India. He retired as Dean of Jawaharlal Institute of Postgraduate Medical Education and Research (JIPMER), Pondicherry. He was one of the founding members of the first National Teacher Training Centre (NTTC) at JIPMER, Pondicherry, established by the Ministry Of Health & Family Welfare, Government of India in 1976, and contributed actively in Training of Teachers in Educational Science & Technology. He has the distinction of running the largest number of Teacher’s Training programs in India.

Lecture by Dr DK Srinivas From Bhore to NMC  as Dr Rita Sood Memorial Oration

Dr N. Anantha Krishnan

Professor of Eminence in Surgery and Health Professions Education

  • Member of the faculty of the National Teachers Training Centre for Health Professionals (NTTC) for 25 years from 1981 to 2006.
  • Member of the high-power committee of Government of India for implementing the recommendations of the National Knowledge Commission on “Information Technology in Future Health care” – 2008.
  • Chairman of the Postgraduate working committee of the Medical Council of India for revising the pattern of postgraduate medical education in India 2010, 2011 – submitted a detailed report to the MCI on the issue.
  • Member of the panel of the MCI for drawing up plans for “Rural posting of medical undergraduates,” 2012.

Competency-Based Postgraduate Medical Education in India (within Regulatory Guidelines) Need, Processes, Problems and Suggested Solutions By Dr Nilakantan Ananthakrishnan